Hi there! You are currently browsing as a guest. Why not create an account? Then you get less ads, can thank creators, post feedback, keep a list of your favourites, and more!
Test Subject
Original Poster
#1 Old 16th Dec 2015 at 3:21 AM
The Sims Online
Been very curious about this for a while..

Does anyone know how it worked? like.. How was the gameplay and why the game was taken down?
Advertisement
Mad Poster
#2 Old 16th Dec 2015 at 3:52 AM
I can speak about the early experiences of The Sims Online, but I think it changed later. I started playing it when they opened up the beta, not in the first wave of players who were there by invitation.

All in all, there really wasn't much game play to the whole thing. Interacting with other players as a Sim was the name of the game. Mostly people would live together, skill together, and play some mini-games within it to increase their funds. The mini-games were cooperative. Two I remember were a map game and a mechanical object game. Nothing was as cheap or as easy as to acquire as it was in The Sims itself. Skills were hard to gain and would fade over time, so players devoted a lot of time to that. Some would set their avatar/Sim to skill and put a weight on their keyboard to keep it active while they got ready for work or slept. As a result, you would go places where Sims were gathered only to find there was no one to interact with. There were some fun socials and objects. Later, after I left, they added pets and more activities to earn money.

I think they took it down because they didn't have enough players to sustain it.

Addicted to The Sims since 2000.
Top Secret Researcher
#3 Old 18th Dec 2015 at 5:56 PM
There was a story about EA not beeing able to maintain the game world and servers, and players doing illegal things in game (they litterally made brothels). The game was not a success I guess.